Ramsey Noauh, Bimbo Akintola & Izu Ojukwu Win @ the 2016 AFRIFF Globe Awards

With four laurels, including Best Feature Film, Best Screenplay, Best Director and Best Actor in a Lead Role, the much-anticipated film on the aborted military coup of 1976, directed by Izu Ojukwu, shone at the Africa International Film Festival’s Globe Award which held at the convention center of Eko Hotels and Suites on Saturday night.

Anchored by Uti Nwachukwu and Kemi Lala-Akindoju, the glamorous show also thrilled guests to a series of Broadway performances featuring Gideon Okeke who reenacted the life and times of the great Afrobeat legend, Fela Anikulapo-Kuti, Adesua Etomi and A’rese, a show which earned great applause and standing ovation from the audience.

Other winners include Oronto Douglas Award for Best Nigerian Film – Green White Green by Abba Makama, Best Lead Actress – Bimbo Akintola for 93 Days, Audience Choice Awards – Slow Country by Eric Aghimien.

Top dignitaries and celebrities spotted at the event include: Peter Obi, former governor of Anambra State, Wangi Mba -Uzoukwu, Biola Alabi, Commissioner of Information and Culture, Steve Ayorinde, CEO of AMAA,  Peace Anyiam-Osigwe, Kunle AfolayanRMD, Rita Dominic, Mercy Johnson, Ramsey Noah, Ayo Makun, Toni Tones, Hilda Dokubo, Kiki Omeili, Deyemi Okanlawon, Blessing Egbe, Izu Ojukwu, among others.

Detail list of Winners below:

Audience Choice Award
Slow Country
Director: Eric Aghimien

Best Student Short Film
King Of Guangzhou
Director: Quester Hannah

Best Animation Film
Director: Francis Yushau Brown

Best Short Film
Director: Keni Ogunlola

Best Documentary
No Where To Run
Director: Dan Mc Cain

Best Female Lead
Bimbo Akintola
93 Days

Special Mention
Somkele Idhalama
93 Days

Best Male Lead
Ramsey Nouah

Special Mention
Ifeanyi Dike Jr
Green White Green And All The Beautiful Colours In My Mosaic Of Madness

Best Screenplay
Emmanuel Okomanyi & Izu Ojukwu

Best Director
Izu Ojukwu

Best Nigerian Film
Green White Green And All The Beautiful Colours In My Mosaic Of Madness
Director: Abba T. Makama

Special Jury Prize
Director: Akin Omotosho

Best Feature
Director: Izu Ojukwu

See all the photos from the awards below!


Photo Credit: Adeoluadeniyi Photography

Source: Bellanaija

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s